top of page

AP Lit: Week 17 - A New Beginning

I had a rough start this week, being we had just had the last week and a few days off. My mind is STILL in break mode. I wish that break had been a full two weeks, I believe that would have helped me with my issue. Anyhow, I'd like to discuss the two poems of the week. We read "For Jane Meyers" by Louise Gluck, and "Spring and All" by William Carlos Williams (I like his name). Both of these poems are about, well, spring. However, both poems take a completely different take on the idea of spring. Williams' poem takes on the more common idea of spring, the idea of hope, new beginnings, birth, reawakening, etc. The poem discusses the slow coming of spring, sluggish and dazed. Meyers' poem, however, appears to be written from the plants' point of view, or at least be about their perspective. Meyers' compares the plants to animalistic traits, and the plants seem to be worried that they are going to die, since humans pick flowers. This was a rather odd poem, and it kind of made me uncomfortable. It made sense, but it was an odd look at it. When Mr. Schoenborn acted out how boys often would cut the throats of plants and bring them to a girl to impress them, all I could do was laugh. It made perfect sense, I had just never thought about it that way before!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We just now wrote our PoW's for the two poems I discussed above. I found the prompt incredibly easy as I had already been discussing almost exactly what our prompt asked in my blog! My mind was already thinking about the differences in the two poems, so I felt that writing a paper about it was a breeze. Although I didn't completely understand "For Jane Meyers" at first, just writing this blog about it made me think about it more and therefore understand the poem more thoroughly. It seems that a lot of the time, I will receive the poem in the beginning of the week, and be completely confused. By the end of the week, however, I usually grasp a much better idea of what the poem means and what the author was trying to explain. I just hope that throught time, I will become better at "sight reading" poems such as I do with music, understanding it on the first read of the poem or song.

I really found this entertaining! Who knows, maybe that guy was right and they actually do feel pain? An interesting thought to say the least.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page